The N.E.T. Sports Gazette
Texas Football In The News
Quality Discount Dental Plans... Win 1,000,000.00 Dollars Free and Instantly... Get $20 FREE with your 1st deposit at Omni Casino.... - Quality Inflatable Boats.... Ammo, Surplus & Hunting Gear for Less

Top Stories: Sunday Monday Tuesday Wendesday Thursday Friday Saturday More Headlines Home


Make This Site Your Homepage! --- Email This Page To A Friend

Sunday Top Stories








Football Links


Texas HS Links


Derrick Johnson named to 2004 Butkus Award Watch List

Special to the N.E.T. Sports Gazette

ORLANDO, Fla. - UT senior LB Derrick Johnson has been named to the preliminary list of 65 candidates for the 2004 Butkus Award, which is presented by The Downtown Athletic Club of Orlando, Inc. (DACO) to the nation's best collegiate linebacker. Johnson was one of three finalists for the award in 2003 and is the only returnee in 2004. He was first Longhorn player to ever be named a finalist for the Award. As a sophomore in 2002, Johnson became just the second UT player to be tabbed a semifinalist for the Butkus Award.

Johnson was recently named to the watch lists for the Walter Camp Football Foundation Player of the Year award as well as the Nagurski Trophy (nation's top defensive player), Lombardi Award (nation's top lineman), and Bednarik Award (defensive player of the year). He also has been selected as the 2004 Preseason Big 12 Defensive Player of the Year as voted on by members of the media.

As a junior, Johnson became UT's first consensus All-American linebacker since Jeff Leiding in 1983. He has tallied 328 tackles (208 solo), 46 tackles for loss (T-No. 9 on the UT all-time list/second-best among LBs), 8.5 sacks, 29 QB pressures, 22 PBUs (a UT record for LBs) and eight interceptions (T-No. 1 on UT's interceptions by a LB list) in 38 career games (28 starts).

The Butkus Award Watch List will be trimmed to 10 semifinalists on Thursday, October 14. That list will be cut down to three finalists, which will be announced via a national teleconference with players, coaches, media members and Butkus Award officials on Thursday, November 11. The winner will be announced Friday, December 10, 2004. The award will be presented by its namesake, Dick Butkus, a former University of Illinois standout and Chicago Bears NFL Hall of Fame member. The finalists, their coaches and families are invited to attend the Butkus Award Gala festivities including a welcome reception, golf tournament and silent auction.

This year's Watch List includes 65 noteworthy candidates that represent schools and conferences from across the nation. The independent selection committee for the 2004 Butkus Award comprised of 30 of the nation's foremost national media members, is solely responsible for all voting in the selection process. Selection Committee members have already started evaluating the candidates and will continue their review throughout the entire football season. Additional Watch List candidates may be added in the coming weeks. Voting for the three Butkus Award finalists and the Butkus Award winner will be conducted by confidential ballots of the selection committee.

Sunday August 22, 2004

Free Home Theater

Quit Tobacco With Mint Snuff Pouches

Affordable Quality Hunting Gear

Book Flights + Hotel
Maximum Connections:
Number of Passengers:
Adults: Children: Seniors:

powered by Travelocity



Copyright 2002-2004 The North East Texas Sports Gazette

Member Texas Sports Writers Association, Football Writers of America Association